Jump to content
  • We'd love for you to participate.

    Create an account

    Ask questions, share experiences and connect.

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Jan115

New Cruise Review - New York to Bermuda on Norwegian Gem

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Jan - I enjoyed your review and glad you made the best of this cruise. It sounds like you did have a good time despite some cutbacks. Sadly with each passing cruise we take on any line the cut backs are more and more noticeable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, MaryLou. Mainstream cruising has been gradually changing, and not everything for the better. As long as there is a real promenade deck on the ship, I'm good - a feature I forgot to mention in my long-winded review. I also noticed that I mistakenly wrote Bermuda in the title - I must have been thinking how much nicer Hamilton is than Nassau when I wrote it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great review, Jan! We have never been to NYC - and admit it seems a bit intimidating, so thanks for the restaurant suggestions. Curious - how did your cabin size/layout, etc. compare to other lines...and was the stateroom service good? Do they provide ice buckets or "on request"? Bahama Art and Handicraft - I will remember it! We seek out those kinds of places everywhere we go and I treasure my chosen souvenirs (or jewelry) from them! Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Andi - if you avoid Times Square, you'll find NYC to be no more intimidating that Chicago. Each borough has its own personality. Times Square is loud and brassy, while the upper west side - where we were - is much quieter. The cabin layout was fine, pretty much like most standard balcony cabins. I do like the fact that every balcony cabin has a small sofa - which is something that's missing from the Grand Class balcony cabins on Princess - my one real pet peeve about Princess. I like the extra seating area. Our steward was great, and, yes, he automatically filled the ice buckets every morning without having to ask. The bathroom set up was just like that on the Dawn last year - the shower and toilet areas are separated from the sink area in the middle - a nice idea, and it does make the shower roomier than most. The toilet area, though, is pretty darn cramped - especially for a person of considerable size - but we made it work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Loved your review, Jan...thanks so much for sharing. It was so interesting, and also full of great information. So glad you had a good time, even though a few things could have been better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

    • 2 Posts
    • 133 Views
    • 8 Posts
    • 468 Views
    • 1 Posts
    • 692 Views
    • 1 Posts
    • 441 Views
    • 4 Posts
    • 844 Views

×
×
  • Create New...