• We'd love for you to participate.

Create an account

Ask questions, share experiences and connect.

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Why only Carry-on luggage?

Rate this topic

CruiseNewbie

I am a Newbie to cruising and curious to why all the tips and tricks to packing only use a smaller carry-on bag?  Is there no room for a larger bag?  I have been watching all the items I should get from Dollar Tree and other places and I now fear I will run out of room for clothes.  We will be cruising on the Norwegian Encore and have a Aft Balcony stateroom reserved.   

Edited by CruiseNewbie

Hi CruiseNewbie and welcome to CruiseCrazies! That’s a great question, and I have to laugh, too, when I see those videos showing items neatly rolled or arranged in cubes into a small carryon. While it’s possible to pack that tightly organized for a 3 or 4 day cruise, I think most of us need the bigger bag for a longer cruise. 🤣 With airline bag fees, people are looking for ways to save money, I guess. I say pack whatever size bag your comfortable with keeping in mind airline size and weight limits (if you’re flying to the ship). After a few cruises, you’ll figure out that you really don’t need some of the stuff all the packing lists say you have to have.🙂

Thanks Jan115 for your response.  My main concern is how to store a larger piece of luggage.  I read where the carry-ons will store under the bed, but unsure if the large bag will fit there as well.  Our cruise is for 7 days and we will probably take 1 large bag and 1 carry-on size (check both since they are free).  I also purchased a smaller under the seat bag that I will take on the plane with me.  I want to make sure my medicines, electronic items, and a change of clothes are available when I need them.  

Edited by CruiseNewbie